Libya’s New Military Zones

The Presidency Council has announced the formation of 7 military zones across Libya. These are Tripoli, Benghazi, Tobruk, Sebha, Kufra and the Central and Western regions. They have grouped Misratah and the Tunisian border area within the Tripoli zone, which will cause problems.  See page 264 of Belfast to Benghazi for the 7 areas of strategic interest in 2011, each with  unique security challenges as well as common problems of militia integration and border security.

Layout 1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s